Mayan Calendar

Mayan Calendar

The Nawal is the Spirit or the Energy, the strength which animates the different days of the Tzolkin calendar; usually, it is represented by an animal and it is the characteristics and spirit of that animal which lead the individuality of the being bearing this sign.

The Nawal is the energy, spirit, and strength of beings and elements of nature, they are represented by the very elements of nature like the sun, moon, rain, air, water, plants and animals because, in the Mayan thought, everything is alive. On the other hand, in the Mayan cosmovision, we all have a Nawal that identifies us and connects us with nature, promotes harmony and an existential balance with all that surrounds us. In addition, it allows for a greater respect and proper use of nature's resources to enable future existence.

The interpretation of each Nawales is not a mechanical exercise, it is an act of perception and human feelings. To go further, it is better to consult the old Ajq'ijab' (spiritual guides), who may provide an explanation for each individual case.

The Cross indicates the energies that govern the conception and destiny, and the left and right sides of the person. The Maya Cross represents the 4 corners of the universe, the four cardinal points.

The sacred calendar of 20 days, called Cholq'ij (Tzolkin in Yucatan Mayan), came from the human body, from the ten fingers and from the ten toes of the human being. Those 20 days compose a law which controls human being's life, from its conception to its death. From those 20 days, a Divine and Sacred law with no possible reform to which it is impossible to withdraw or add anything, came to light. This Law is known as the Mayan Habitual Right.

In this Mayan Habitual Right, two laws are respected: The Divine law of the Creator and the Natural Law on the Earth. Here can be found the wisdom of our ancestors, those Mayan prophets who came from the constellation of stars called the Pleiades; those who left us this great knowledge and who at their set time, after having finished their job here on the Mayan land, went back to the place where they came from. Those four Mayan prophets are B'alam Kitze, B'alam Akab', Iq' B'alam et Mahucutah.

In their lifetime on the Mayan Land, those prophets had female life Partners, and they were: Kaja Paluma, Tzununha, Chomiha, and Kakinada; also, they all had children, except Iq' B'alam. Those prophets lived here and they left us a great knowledge. For example, they taught us which are the materials to use when ceremonies are carried out, this was from the first celebrated ceremony on the Mount Chui' Saqarib'al (Place of Dawn), on which dawn; the exit of the Sun, was for the first time, expected on the face of the Earth. Each one of those prophets had its presence in order to thank: B'alam Kitze offered the Kaxlam Pom, B'alam Akab' offered the Mexcam Pom; The Lord Mahucutah offered Cuil Pom, and Iq' B'alam offered gok pom.  Up to today, this ceremony is still carried out the same way as it was carried out that first day in this Sacred Mountain called "The Place of Dawn". Also, they left us, among other things, our 20 great calendars. To sum it all up, they left us an entire tradition.

With the study and formation of the calendars, the Mayans happened to understand that every 5200 years, the Earth is facing a period of obscurity consisting in 60 to 70 hours; this period of 5200 years has been given the name of "One Sun Period". This way, the Mayans started to measure the time of the 20 calendars and that notion of time came to place as the law of time in the new constitution of the Mayan villages, this so-called Mayan Habitual Right. The Calendar of the 20 days, Tzolqij, as previously named, is the one which controls the life of the human being from its birth to its death. This calendar Tzolqij or Cholqij consisting in the count of a year of the human cycle is composed of 13 months and each month consists of 20 days. That way, a year is composed of 260 days, the same amount of time as the gestation or pregnancy of the human being in its maternal first home: the belly of its mother.

The other calendar is the one of the Sun Year or Haab, the one which has 18 months and 20 days each month, giving a total of 360 days, to which 5 more days are added: days called days of the Wayeb (that are the lace of the year) and that gives the quantity of 360+5=365. Those 365 days correspond to the time of rotation of Mother Earth around the Sun.

That way, after having reached the measure of time, the Mayans started to proceed to the count of days. A day is called "Qij"; a month is called "Winal", a year is called "Tun", and a 20 years period of time is called a "Katun", etc. Each day is represented by an image called "sign" (glifo) and as the first day, it is identified
and associated to the "BAATZ"

Note :
In the 20 days of the Sacred Calendar, all the basic forces of creation and destruction are expressed; the positive and the negative; the good and the evil; the duality which exists in the world, in the society, in the family and in the heart of the human being. From the conjugation of such forces in the lives of individuals, depends on the path of existence and of destiny. It is important to know that all activities carried out by us, has a consequence on us, on our family or on the community. For that reason, our ancestors recommend us to behave well for the goodwill, luck, and profit of itself of the family and of the community, in general.


Click here ↡ 

English - Find My Nawal
Español - Conoce Tu Nawal





Back to blog